Oh Bless Them

So let me preface by saying that I find the whole ‘Type A’ or ‘Type B’ personality thing to be very limiting – but perhaps it’s sometimes accurate to say when a person is ‘being Type A’. I don’t often hear anyone reference Type B personalities, but from what I know, they’re generally supposed to be the opposite of Type A – laid back, less reactive to stressful events, not as stringently focused on achieving career goals, and supposedly more creative.

Again, I find these two types to be limiting. But I can be a little Type A.

Today, for example, I found myself really frustrated at the  grocery store. I’m one of those people who naturally tries to keep their grocery cart organized as I shop; it makes it easier for when I get to checkout. Even if I don’t do the greatest job, I still load my groceries a certain way at the checkout line, keeping all like foods together, and further, I try to load them in a certain order:

  1. Dry and/or canned goods
  2. Dairy and other cold/frozen products
  3. Meats
  4. Produce
  5. Eggs/bread
  6. Household products/pet supplies

So admittedly, this sounds ridiculous, but my wife also does it, so I don’t feel so bad. I know I’m not alone and I’m sure there are others who do this also, and there a few reasons why I do it!

For starters, all of our groceries are (ideally) bagged like with like. This makes putting groceries away a lot easier at home. Furthermore, when they go back into the cart, the dry goods go in first, with the dairy right next to it, and then the uncrushable produce and meats go on top. All household stuff will then usually go to the bottom of the cart.

Then, when I get to my car, I’m able to take my produce and meats right from the top of my cart and put it in the front of my trunk, followed by my dairy and dry goods. When I get home, everything cold/perishable comes out first. The order is followed every step of the way, and putting groceries away is generally simple because like items are bagged together.

So, there’s totally a plausible reason for all of the organization, and it takes very little thought.

However, one person can ruin the whole thing. Just one person. THE BAGGER. Bless the souls of all the Publix baggers who get my gig and help me stay organized on my weekly grocery trips, because when I get someone like I did today, it irrationally puts a kink in my Type A grocery shopping day.

This dude, whom I’ve never met before (and I shop at my home Publix enough to recognize all the people), bagged my groceries with such swiftness, I was impressed. He was a new manager, and he obviously moved up the ranks. I felt great walking to the car; I turned to Robyn and made a joke about how other women do all of their daily activities with a man, and how foreign that idea was to me. Like putting groceries away – weird.

When we got the trunk of my car open, we realized our Publix manager/bagger probably didn’t do his own grocery shopping. (Maybe these things add to the admittedly small minded concept that men don’t put groceries away.) He bagged canned goods with my ice cream, and home supplies were mixed with produce. Who are you?! My whole cart was jumbled, and he had no concern for the placement of my groceries.

A perfectly good grocery shopping day, tainted by the careless work of just one person.


On the upside, though, the rest of my day went great. We went to one of our last childbirth education classes that we’re required to go to by our midwives. We will have accomplished 16 weeks of childbirth classes by the time Sprout comes, and holy heck do we feel prepared. Between classes and all the books we have read, plus my doula training … I think we’re ready for Baby CuPow.

And Baby CuPow is getting ready too.

We just saw on the calendar that the weekend we’re due is a full moon – we’re pretty sure Robyn will go into labor as expected on or around her due date, all thanks to that full moon. Her hormones are always synchronized with the moon.

Braxton Hicks contractions are generally more frequent, and baby is just lower and lower these days. I feel like the time will shortly come – and we’ll have a little Sprout to hold!

Leave a comment